Shelsley Walsh 1 May

Circuit Shelsley Walsh
Date Sunday 01 May 2016
How to get there Map / Directions
Accommodation Click here 

Circuit Description

Modern yet with the longest history

ERA R4D attacks the hill from Kennel bend. Photo: Martin Depper

The oldest venue

Shelsley Walsh is the oldest motor sport venue in continuous use in the world. First used in 1905, it is older than Indianapolis, Le Mans or Monza. Brooklands has been and gone, but Shelsley Walsh is still here, as old as the sport but as modern as today.


The venue was the first purpose built motor sport venue in history and has continued to be at the heart of motor sport and sporting innovation. It featured the first electrical motor sport timekeeping and the first motor sport outside broadcast with the innovations continuing through more than 100 years of continuous improvement. Raymond Mays perfected his ERA racing cars at Shelsley in the 1930’s and his later BRM’s featured at Shelsley.

In its simplest form hill climbing is a competition to get from the bottom of the hill to the top as quick as you can.

In relation to Shelsley Walsh that is 1000yards with a 1:7 rise at its steepest point with drivers reaching speeds of up to 140mph.

A major hill climb may have an entry of more than 150 drivers, but the event is usually a qualifying round of more than one competition.

Some drivers (especially drivers of less powerful cars) will not be entered for the British Championship itself.

Those who are, and who record a time in the top twelve of all those eligible, compete in a “run-off” at the end of each set of class runs (there are two such sets of class runs at each event). In a run-off, drivers tackle the hill in reverse order of their qualifying times, although where two drivers share a car, the slower qualifier competes at the start of the run-off session.

The person who sets the fastest time receives 10 British Championship points, the second-fastest driver nine, and so on down to the tenth-placed driver, who gets one. The 11th and 12th-placed drivers, and any who fail to complete the course, receive no points. An extra point is given to any driver in the run-off who breaks the outright hill record as it stood at the beginning of the day.